Charles County Charitable Trust

The Charles County Charitable Trust was founded in 2016 to serve as a central source of assistance to the community’s nonprofit sector.

Board of Directors

Swynice Hawkins


Retired executive director of the Southern Maryland Tri-County Community Action Committee. Current volunteer commitment to multi-state program assisting local communities with water and wastewater system problems.

Deborah Carrington

Vice President

Retired federal investigator for the Office of Personnel Management. Established the Tiffani C. Carrington Scholarship Fund. Currently the Capital Campaign Coordinator for LifeStyles of Maryland Foundation.

Stephen Bunker


Former member of the Charles County Planning Commission. Career on staff of the Maryland Nature Conservancy. Taking leading role in effort to designate Mallows Bay in Nanjemoy as a National Marine Sanctuary.

Mike Gahan


Darlene Breck

Board Member

Angela Clark

Board Member

Recent retiree from financial management positions with federal agencies. Involved in volunteer tax assistance to seniors and serves as acting treasurer for the local NAACP chapter.

Steven Davis

Board Member

Pastor of a local interdenominational church with extensive experience in crisis intervention, conflict resolution, and consensus-building. Longtime chaplain for the FBI.

Timothy Fenner

Board Member

Program Coordinator for the Diversity Institute at the College of Southern Maryland, with responsibility for the Men of Excellence program. Active in Kiwanis and African-American Heritage Center program.

George Hawley

Board Member

Sandra McGraw

Board Member

Retired career federal program analyst with experience in advocacy programs promoting social justice for low-income residents. An organizer of the Charles County Service and Advocacy Council, with particular interest in affordable housing.


Vivian Mills

Executive Director

Susan Petroff

Program Director

Devin Watts

Office Manager